Bringing a Mainland Chinese Wife to Taiwan

For those of you interested, I emailed the Taiwanese “consulate” in Los Angeles about bringing my Mainland Chinese wife to Taiwan. I’m a student, studying Chinese language, and asked if it would be possible to bring her with me were I to relocate to Taiwan and finish my studies. Here’s the reply:

As a foreign student, your Mainland Chinese wife can not accompany you to stay in Taiwan. But Mainland Chinese living out of Mainland China and holding permanent resident certificate abroad (such as U.S. green card etc.) may apply for travel permit to Taiwan. The maximum of each stay is 10 days. No extension will be granted.

When applying for travel permit, Mainland Chinese mentioned above must submit the following documents with one current, full face photograph of themselves to the authority,

1. Application form for travel permit(It is available in TECO or can be download at the web site:// www.immigration.gov.tw).

2. Mainland Chinese passport. The remaining validity of passport shall be
    no less than six months.

3. Permanent Resident Certificate.

4. Processing of application takes half of a business day in TECO; 4 days in Taiwan.(The travel permit will be approved and issued by the Bureau of immigration in Taiwan)

5. Visa fee is free of charge in TECO; $400 NT dollars charged by the Bureau of immigration in Taiwan.

Oh dear.

There are other threads about this somewhere. Hopefully Lord Lucan can drop some of his experience here, although he;s been a tad erratic of late.

HG

[quote=“Huang Guang Chen”]Oh dear.

There are other threads about this somewhere. Hopefully Lord Lucan can drop some of his experience here, although he;s been a tad erratic of late.

HG[/quote]

Erratic?

Letting her come in at all is a big improvement on my situation a few years ago.

Lots posted on the forum about this. No need to repeat it here, really.