Bull sharks and jellyfish spotted near Kenting beaches

Has anyone else heard about this? It was in the news, I guess. They are warning swimmers to be careful. Bull sharks are more likely to attack people than any other shark species.

I went to Kenting this weekend and there were people swimming as usual. I didn’t see any sharks but for the first time in my entire life, I rubbed against a jellyfish. It doesn’t feel too good. I’ve been diving for many years and I’ve spent my fare share of time in the ocean, swimming, snorkeling and diving. It never happened to me before. Call me lucky.

When the jellyfish made contact with my left bicep, it hurt immediately. It felt like an electric shock, almost. I rushed out of the water but the damage was done. It created a severe rash the size of a baseball. My arm was burning for about three hours. There are no doctors in Kenting that we know of and it was Sunday. I went to the Fu Dog surf shop instead where the owner kindly treated the affected area with vinegar. Thanks to them, I will survive. :notworthy:

Rob

jellyfish are very common in taiwan waters. Luckily none of those australian killer irikanji or whatever you call em.

What i do is that upon being stung, i take wet beach sand and rub the area, it seems to work to relieve the itch. do it immediately and the after effects seem to not be as serious. But yes serious contact takes days to go away.

they have portuguese man-o-wars that have very long tentacles that could even fall off the jellyfish but still sting you. You can get seriously stung to the point you need to be given injections much like being stung by bees. what i do is if i get a string of jellyfish that means theres a lot more in the water that day and i will just get out of the water basically.

bull sharks in kenting iv never heard of, but every now and then someone gets killed there. A few years ago a kid got eaten (never found his body apparently) by a great white they believe or some other huge shark.