🇨🇳 China - Yunnan | Help a bear get to China

Hello yes, hello. I have a dream to go to China. I have been learning the difficult tongue for 34 years and wish to put it to the test particularly in the high mountains, to whit, Yubeng.

Anyway how much mafan is it to get a tourist visa? It seems a pain in the butt. Anyone got any ideas? Why have they made it so hard

I want to fly HK to Kunming to Deqing.

2 Likes

Wow, that looks like a gorgeous place!

Isn’t it Deqin, not Deqing?

3 Likes

Make sure you don’t go in the winter, I tried a remote valley up there and we got snowed in (spring festival), ended up a few days in a village with roads closed both ways

And in the rainy season, another time I was up there, very dangerous

But i did a summer trip overland from Chengdu through Litang into Deqin, amazing roads. Litang has a famous horse festival, but I guess accommodation these days would be impossible (or take a tent, lots of grass up there)

Here, we were trying to go here. Weather was perfect in Dali, but blizzard on the way here

3 Likes

it used to be much easier.

book a hotel in the area first (must be one which can hosts foreigners, so it will be more expensive), then just go to HK in one of the shady agencies for visa handling, they’ll take care of it (many are in Mong Kok), used to go here:
http://www.fbt-chinavisa.com.hk/contact.html

1 Like

What’s your nationality? US?

Answer is going to determine the amount of trouble you must go through to get a tourist visa.

I know they don’t take it easy on Americans because the US makes any visa application very onerous. I don’t know if a Chinese visa is onerous compared to Chinese getting a tourist visa to the us.

Also hotels must have permit in order to host foreigners, so many will not.

Are you still in Thailand, or do you plan to go again before then?