Classical Chinese learning resources?

After some years of modern Chinese, I’m just getting into classical Chinese, with the long-term goal of studying the Buddhist scriptures. I was wondering if anybody out there might be able to share their experience and suggestions regarding the same. Are there any standard text books in English? What are some easy texts to get started with? What resources are available in Taiwan? What about finding a tutor or auditing classes, especially in Southern Taiwan?
Many thanks!

Princeton University Press has published a ‘Classical Chinese Reader’. It’s a three volume set with four supplements. One of the supplements deals with classical Chinese grammar, the other philosophical texts, and the other poetry and prose, and the fourth one I forgot. Anyway, you can google it. I ordered a couple of the supplements. They won’t be out until this October, I think.

When I was an undergrad, we used Michael Fuller’s “An Introduction to Literary Chinese” as our text book. It was very heavy on grammar and linguistics stuff. There are four sections, proceeding from very basic to more advanced.

However, if you really want to learn classical Chinese, I suggest going to Shida and taking “High School Chinese” (Gaozhong guowen) with Tang Jiuchong. The class uses the same text books as high school students in Taiwan and the lessons are mostly classical Chinese texts, the majority of which are the “Eight Great Authors of the Tang & Song,” but there are also quite a few others, as well as more advanced vernacular lessons. I’d strongly recommend that approach. :slight_smile:

Listen to LittleBuddha’s recommendations. He’s usually very well informed about all this. I should add, though, a few notes.

First, a small correction: According to a lot of people, Buddhist scriptures would be Literary Chinese rather than Classical Chinese. It depends on your definitions, of course, but I think a lot of Western scholars agree on this.