Clothing etiquette

Hello!
I have a few questions. I tried already to look for answers in the old topics but found nothing. So sorry if this was discussed before (or if this is the wrong section) :notworthy: .
What’s ok to wear and what not in Taiwan? I love, for example, this t-shirt with tears in the back. And at home I would wear it without an another shirt under it.
Or I have other semi-transparent t-shirts that I would wear with a little top under.
Or is it rude to show a little bit of your décolleté? In Japan I used to cover everything (and people stared anyway), and I was wondering if it is the same here.

By the way, I’m new in this wonderful forum, so I’ll present myself! My name’s Vale, I arrived two weeks ago to Taipei to study Chinese and I’m 23. Nice to meet you all :bow: :bow:

You can wear whatever you want. If you show off cleavage, be prepared for people to gawk. And for perverts to take pictures when you’re not looking. I’ve seen all manners of clothing (or lack thereof) in Taipei. Just use some common sense and stay safe. And welcome to Taiwan.

Agree anything, western style is fine. From a guy perspective, less is best (sorry could not help it). You mentioned T-shirts, if you want to fit in with the locals, find some made in Taiwan with the words misspelled and the saying makes no sense. As far a modesty, many locals often show more than you would think appropriate. As for showing cleavage, definitely, greatly lacking with the Asian women.

Welcome to Tawian (Huānyíng guānglín).

Actually Huanying lai Taiwan (welcome to TAiwan )

Sorry if this is inappropriate, but you should know that local folks DO totally shun braless-ness.
Cleavage is coin of the realm, but pokey nipples (on women) are completely taboo.

Again, sorry if this is TMI or anything. :bow:

Yes I know. Actually the exact translation of Huānyíng guānglín is “Welcome to Family Mart”.

[quote=“schwanification”]Hello!