Contacting Schools

I am in the process of looking for teaching positions in Taiwan. I started out by using a recruiter I’ve used in the past, but I’m also looking at schools on my own. Should I try to contact the schools about any open positions on my own, or should I send the names of the schools to my recruiter and ask them to help me with interview, etc.?

I’m also curious about whether or not I qualify for private-public school positions (Wego, Yan Ping etc.). I have a bachelors degree in English, and a TEFL, as well as two years of experience in another country, but I am not qualified to teach in my own country.

Any information would be helpful!

You can rule out all public schools if you don’t have a teaching license. That’s an MOE rule, so even if you have open work rights, you can’t work at any of those.
My understanding of the private schools is that some hire if you have experience but no license. I do remember applying to a private school once that had recently been purged of all foreign teachers because none of them were licensed. Check their recruitment info and make sure you’re not breaking laws, because it will be on you, not the school, if you are. Remember that kindy is never legal for foreigners, regardless of qualifications.
Do you trust the recruiter? In my experience they’re a bit shady— better to go directly to job postings on Tealit and apply to the school yourself

The difference between private schools and buxibans isn’t really clear to me, but it looks like some places are considered private schools but not buxibans. When my recruiter explained it to me, they said a buxiban is a private school. I know I qualify to teach at a buxiban, but I’m not sure if I would qualify for some of the private schools I mentioned above (Wego, Yan Ping).

I already know I don’t want to bother working at any place that could potentially be illegal, so I won’t even go into those.