Cycling

Know anything about cycling in Taiwan? I know the roads are too busy for bikes but are there any track or mtb clubs out there?

I do not bike but these folks have in the past . . .

formosanfattire.com/

Hey, where are you located? I am looking for some MTB partners. I am a little out of shape at the moment, but I am working on it. I also looked at the fat tire guys webpage, and was planning to contact them for some bike experience. I am currently living in Kweishan, a little outside of Taipei by Taoyuan/Linkou.

me too. I am keen to find some MTB rides around Taoyuan area.

Well, I started riding in the community area of the Chang Gung Hospital, it is okay for the night time and as a start to get back into shape. I hope that I can do some more exploring in the daylight over the weekends. Hey if you want to join, that would be great. The more the merrier. Maybe later on we could try to organize rides on some of the trails mentioned on the formosanfattire website.

cheers, It’s been a few years since I mashed it on the Kona in NZ, but it is here. I feel I owe it to everyone concerned to get some time up and get back in shape myself before the group punishment begins :blush:

There must be some single track riding around here?

Yeah, it is about more than a year for me that I had my last ride in WI and I don’t want to be the tail of the group either and slow anyone down.

I certainly hope to find some single trail here too. It is hilly here, so there should also be trails at least used by hikers. Our community is at a slope, but it seems to be rather steep. I did see some trails branching of here and there, but rather narrow ones, does not look like much fun. Trails would be the ideal, but even some backroads up to a mountain top as a start would be fine. That would get me back into shape quickly when exercised every weekend.

So where is Nankan? Do you know the Chang Gung Memorial Hospital in Kweishan, although the founder seems to think it is in Linkou.