Denied a work permit because of company's low salary

Hello!

I live in Taipei for almost 4 months now, and studying mandarin on NTU. I came to Taiwan to start life with my long time wonderful Taiwanese girlfriend.
I am looking for a job at my proffesion of engineering and manufacturing, after long time of search (and only 2 relevant interviews…) I was accepted to work at a local company.

The manager told me they hired foreigners before, and looking for more for their own reasons.
And so the paperwork started… everything looks OK. I have a master degree and more than 2 years work experience…

But the salary they offered was 32,000 NTD. Altough it’s painfully low I accepted since I want to start working somewhere.

My girlfriend told me that the salary must be around a minimum of 48,000 NTD for white color worker, and it’s wiered the company didn’t say anything about this.
We figured they have a way to solve that problem, since I guess not every foreigner earns so much here, and they DID say they hired foreigners before.

My work permit application was denied because of that, and I am pissed off :fume: .
The company offered me all kind of illegal ways to start work with out permits, what we call in my home country “Combinas”, but I offcourse refused.

Does anyone here experienced a similar situation?
Thanks!

Mate, you just write 50k on the contract, but agree with the company the 32k. The govt won’t track each payment, and you can always say you took excessive time off if anyone ever asked questions…

You can go back and reapply with an adjusted contract, simple process.

I just want to add, 32k is very low, and you better ensure you get the same bonus as the locals (CNY, other holidays).

[quote=“Kea”]Mate, you just write 50k on the contract, but agree with the company the 32k. The govt won’t track each payment, and you can always say you took excessive time off if anyone ever asked questions…
[/quote]

Thanks for the reply Kea.