Don’t Have Documents To Prove Income

Hello,

I am in a tricky situation. I will most likely need a lawyer but I would appreciate any advice from you until that point.

I work as a freelancer. I want to file taxes next year but I will likely encounter a few issues:

One - Most of the income received, was received through Western Union.

Two - Some of the income received was in cash, outside of Taiwan. I’m not sure if this income falls under taxable income.

Three - There are no invoices or pay-slips. I haven’t saved the Western Union forms.

Four - I’ve been there during the pandemic too. This means I have to file for past tax years.

My questions/issues:

One - How do I prove income without supporting documents? Do I go to Western Union, ask them for the past documents for tax purposes? These were never designated as “work transfers” but rather “personal transfers.”

Two - Can I wait until the next filing season (May 2024) to file for all the previous years? Should I file for just one year and let them ask about the previous ones?

Three - Is there a pay to pay the back taxes in installments? The tax liability is more than I can afford right now, especially since it’s been a rather slow year so has anyone managed to get to pay it over a longer period of time?

Four - For money I received in person, while OUTSIDE of Taiwan, do I declare them as income?

I know that I’ve broken a few laws already, I’m trying to make the most out of a messy situation. Thank you.

Overseas income is a tricky thing. I don’t know the details but there are lots of cases that may not need declaring at all. Also I believe overseas income has a massive tax exemption (first million or so). Probably best to ask at the tax office.

1 Like

@Marco’s CPA should be able to help.

1 Like