"Fitting In" in Taiwan (dealing with Discrimination)

Hi Everyone!
I just moved to Taiwan with my wife a few weeks ago. I am studying here and enjoy a lot of things about being here.

But I am having some trouble settling in. I get the sense a lot of people don’t like me or wish I wan’t here.

I am married to someone from Taiwan. We met back in the US, and decided to come here to study. She is working and I am studying, so we are all set for work/school. But I am finding it hard to get used to the climate, the air pollution, the culture shock, and the lack of friendliness.

We are living in the South, and some people have told me that might have something to do with it. I hear people are more accepting in Taipei. I have been told I am facing discrimination because many people don’t like to see someone from the US studying here and / or being with a woman from Taiwan. Is that true?

About 85% of the people I see ignore me, another 10% glare at me when I am out, and maybe 5% smile at me.

Would some of you who have been living here for a long time try and offer some suggestions? We will be here for 3 years at least, so I am hoping to find a way to make things easier.

Thanks for your help!

I did my best to see if this was the right place to put this post. Sorry if it is in the wrong section.

2 Likes

If anyone can offer any advice it would really really help! Getting your expertise would be much appreciated!!! :slight_smile:

5% smiling at you sounds pretty good anywhere

are you from a rural area or something?

my advice is, get a thicker skin, and take that bullfrog out from the front pocket of your dungarees; that won’t fly in the city

I thought it was good that people ignore people? Do you usually smile at random strangers on random streets back home?