Former university academic seeking a post-retirement career in ELT

Hi all; thanks for your attention. I’d really appreciate your advice on this one.

So here’s my situation: I’m a former university academic seeking a post-retirement career in ELT. I’d really like to teach English to adults (or at least older teenagers) in Taiwan. I have a PhD, a couple of masters and a few undergrads (but none of which is in education). I’ll also have my CELTA by mid-May.

I don’t speak Chinese (but I have been learning), I’m an Australian and I speak with a neutral accent that’s more reminiscent of British RP than a broad Australian accent. Also, I’m not white (well, I’m literally fair - but, like, I’m not a Westerner) and I look young; that’s me in my display pic. I suspect one or more of the aforementioned factors might go against me in my job-search.

Now, I’d much prefer teaching adults to children. I’m - of course - willing to be flexible, but I can deliver the most value to adult learners and IELTS/TOEFL candidates. Moreover, I don’t think it’s an option for me to get a registered school teaching certificate from back home.

Financially, I’m not desperate; but I do want to earn something. I’ve been living off my passive investment income since I stopped working full-time. But for various reasons, I won’t be able to bring much to Taiwan; so, I’d really like to be able to secure a job before I get there. I don’t really have a need to save from a teaching job, so enjoying my work is more important to me than saving a lot of money in the process.

My main concern is simply that the demand isn’t there for whatever reason. If you wouldn’t mind sharing your opinions on how I should go about starting my job-search (and things like, which institutions I should go after, which job boards, which agencies, etc.), I’d really appreciate it.

Thanks in advance!
Kevin