Gloria English School Offer

Hi all,

I’m new to the teaching English abroad community. I am an American with a BA. I’m currently working on getting my TEFL certificate online and just got an offer from Gloria English School, which I’ve heard generally good things about, in terms of flexibility. After reading many, many discussions about the pay, I found their offer pay extremely low (think <200 NTD/hour) and even after all the bonuses, it still seems borderline low.

Is this how much new tutors usually get paid? I also want to emphasize that I am an ABC and they did tell me that parents might understood me (heard discrimination against English teachers with Asian faces are rather intense). Are they just bs’ing me and underpaying me because of my Asian face? Can anyone shed some insight?

I’m not in the teaching meta, but <200nt/h for teaching, I’d probably rather work at McDonalds. And i’m not saying that as a joke.

Not an expert, but I have read minimum pay of around 600 ntd per hour… 200 is an offense to your dignity

600 NTD is an offense to your dignity, 200 NTD is an offense to your IQ, and 800 NTD is borderline low.

After I googled “borderline meaning”

1 Like

During my job search I don’t think I saw a single job advertise more than 650/hour

To get this straight, 800 NTD is borderline low. It doesn’t really matter what you observed during your job search.
If all the job offers requested you to bent over, would that also be something you’d accept as dignified?

No, I’m just saying I haven’t seen anyone willing to pay that much

They are offering you that much because they know your new, and think you don’t know better.

600 is very low and should be the minimum even a new teacher accepts. 750 - 800 is the norm imo.

They probably inadvertently left out a zero. I’d double-check if I were you.

Plenty of teaching and tutoring offers going for 1k NTD an hour or more. Just need experience and know where to look.

I am an expert and I agree.

1 Like