Go ahead be maliciously mean to one anther

have fun

Living in a place where they speak the language and you get to use it on a daily basis is the best way to get your skills up, and I had some less than great experiences with the mainland, so Taiwan wins.

I am attempting to ward off allan hymers disease.

Hi Tetsuo, thanx for replying. I guess i didn’t make myself clear. I meant WHAT MADE YOU WANNA STUDY CHINESE? There must have been something that happened that made you go: “I’m going to Taiwan/China to learn Chinese!” So what was it? Is Chinese important? If it is, in what way? This may seem like a real dumb question to someof ya. But I’m Taiwanese and I’m asking from a Taiwanese POV. Anything would be greatly appreciated! Thanx again!

Well, in that case I can’t really help - I decided to study Chinese after living in Hong Kong for a year and falling in love with the place, culture, and language. Then I studied for four years in New Zealand, then came to Taiwan to put the polish on my skills. (Which have since proven to need far more than just polish).

As a general thing, though, I’ve always been fascinated by languages that don’t use the English alphabet, and Japanese was the only one available to study at high school. Then after the year in HK and finding my top choice university offered Chinese, I added that to the list.

Oh, and technically I didn’t come to study Chinese, I came for my job, in which yes, Chinese is important :wink:

Yeah I noticed that your username is Japanese. What does it mean? So have you lived in Japan before? I’m also interested in Japanese. I’m planning to go there and study Japanese for a couple of years. :slight_smile:

Well first this is assuming everyone came to Taiwan to study Chinese. Which I don’t think is the case.
To make money, learn more about the culture, explore the world, study Buddhism, etc. are just a few reasons people come here.