Have you learned Ami/Amis? Recommended resources?

Hi guys,

My girlfriend is native Taiwanese (i.e. of the original tribes that were there before the Chinese - Half Ami and half Sakizaya). We have a really great relationship and I get on well with her brother and cousins who are all about our age (18 - 25). We primarily talk in Mandarin Chinese (I studied it in UK uni for 3 years and live in China for the past 2 years) with English dotted in the conversation.

I also get on well with her parents, although we talk purely in Mandarin. There is a bit of a shyness barrier between us (on both our parts) and I would like to show I’m making additional effort to break the ice by learning some of their native Taiwanese language (which is Ami/Amis). I was just wondering if anyone in this forum has been in a similar situation and actually learnt a reasonable amount of Ami/Amis and what resources they recommend for it (including websites and books etc.)

I even would be interested if you’ve used any good resources that include Chinese at the same time (or just Chinese > Amis).

Any recommendations and experience would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Alex

Search 阿美族語 and you’ll find some things.

www2.apc.gov.tw/kids/lan/amis/amis01.aspx

amis.ks.edu.tw/

course.fcu.org.tw/index.php/97a-1331 (some refs to dictionaries and so forth).

I don’t know if “taiwan e tiam” in Taipei near the McDonald’s across from Taida would have Ami materials or not. I think they used to carry aboriginal language stuff, but I didn’t get there last trip.

From the Amis language Wikipedia page I found this Central Amis vocabulary list.

Thanks for those guys, I guess I’ll also need to look in a large bookshop or something next time I’m in Taipei (or is there an equivalent to Amazon in Taiwan?)