How do you find the angle inside a kite?

I found this problem in my geometry textbook and I’ve been staring at the picture for a while and I am out of ideas.

According to the official answers sheet the answer is 15 degrees given in sexagesimal units.

The rules for this is that you may not use trigonometry or triangle similarity. So in essence is a puzzle. Well, i am not good with constructions. Does any of you guys can help me?

You can use isosceles triangles, circles, equilateral triangles, congruence and all of those sorts. Well, not the secant tangent formula, but I doubt that it will be needed.

Since this problem is in a section where it only introduces concepts like midpoint of a triangle, congruence cases, and basic theorems like incenter, circumcenter, barycenter and orthocenter. Maybe using these simple tools it can be solved.

Therefore, Is there a math wiz who can someone help me?. Please say it with some logical steps without skipping something so I don’t get lost.

What’s the question asking? I only see that the answer is “15 degrees given in sexagesimal units.”

I thought it would be obvious but it is asking find the value of x.

I don’t know the answer but the value of all angles inside the kits need to ad up to 360 since it is complete.

You can infer that 2x it 2 times greater than x. And therefore 3 x is 3 times greater than x.

1 Like

There’s two unknown angles in there. Assign them variable names, then you can form three simultaneous equations in three variables using the basic properties of a triangle and square.

1 Like

Oh, God. I’m in a rabbit hole, learning about the Babylonians. Time to put down the phone and get some work done.

am now depressed becoz cannot maf

3 Likes

I’m on mobile getting ready work, but I was able to work out the angles using properties of triangle:

• The sum of all angles of a triangle equal 180
  • Opposite angles have the same value

20220704_083758