How is the job market for English teachers right now?

I missed this forum a lot while I was gone. I went back to school to take some accounting classes and it took me awhile to hunt for my current job in the US. I work for an accounting firm right now. I am looking to start applying for jobs in TW again and I was wondering how is the market right now considering the US economy has thousands of jobless people. Has the US economy affected TW in terms of more Americans moving to TW to teach English since they are laid off? Or have schools cut back on teachers in TW to save money?

If I come on a tourist visa, how many days do I have before I need to secure employment before my visa expires? I plan to apply to some big chain schools before I move to TW. But assuming I can’t get a job with them, how likely am I go get a job if I just move to TW and start looking? I’m an ABC with no experience in teaching English. I have a degree from the University of California. I am relatively young also. How likely am I to secure a contract if I move to TW say in January of 2009? How do you recommend applying to jobs once I’m here? Thanks and Happy Holidays.

Shit, go to Korea if you want to make a living. Taiwan is OVER. There are way too many Canadian teachers scrambling for the last few remaining jobs and hours there are. You will not find a decent job in Taiwan. You’re outnumbered. There are 10 applicants for any job you apply for. Korea - now that’s the place to be, from what I’ve heard. Taiwan is dead as far as English teaching jobs are concerned. Those of us that are still here are all struggling to get by. Times ain’t the times they used to be.

Taiwan’s economy, being so heavily dependent on exports, is doing poorly. Corporations are tightening their belts, which usually means training budgets get slashed. Schools who cater to corporate training will have a tough ride.