I want to study code, but what code, and where?

This question is mostly for freelancers, or anyone else who can help. I’ve gone from one dead-end job (teaching English) to another. I tried to teach myself web design, internet marketing, and related skills but I think I got too spread out and tried fell for the belief in passive income. I don’t see any hope of improving my situation unless I learn more valuable skills. Other than English stuff, this is my background:
I understand the basics of web coding. I’ve mostly worked with WordPress sites, and I can work within that framework, but I have only tinkered with CSS and my HTML skills aren’t up to date. I have some experience with server-side management, mostly using cPanel and WHM, but I have accessed the server via SSH for some tasks.
Not exactly coding, but marketing is still an option. I have a broad but not detailed understand of online advertising and marketing. I have used Google AdSense and FB ads for years and I’m OK at it, but I never mastered advanced techniques like A/B testing, analitics, and good sales funnels. I know SEO basics, but being creative is a struggle for me so I’ve hired others to write for me and then cleaned it up.

What does the market need today, particularly in regards to freelance work? My current job isn’t dreadful and I won’t be ready to work independently any year soon, so I’d like to learn something I can do on a project basis though Upwork or similar until I’m ready able to make a living at it.
I’m leaning towards web design because that’s what I have the most experience in. I don’t have the aesthetic sense to create nice websites on my own, but there’s a lot else I can do. Maybe I need to include learning server-side coding in that as well.
If I need to, I can start completely over learning Python if that is what is in demand now.