I'm so lonely I want to cry

Will I get flamed for this? Guess I’m still testing the waters here at Segue.
This post will contain some complaints.
If that’s not for you, PLEASE READ NO FURTHER!

Anybody else feeling lonely, unhappy, or that they haven’t accomplished their mission in life?
I’m not young anymore.
Earlier, I had envisioned myself having a great life writing, interpreting, or doing business in Europe.
I got a degree and learned several languages.
But I didn’t have the drive, focus, or esteem to follow through.
So…I’m here.
Can anybody identify?

I want to add, though, that it’s still not too late to have a great life.
I intend to have one.

Would it be flaming to ask you why you feel compelled to start another misery thread instead of posting in your own Worried/Existential Issues thread?

Check the China Post, I believe I saw an advertisment in there for counseling services awhile back, maybe it’s still there…

Go to the church. They give sacrament of repentance before Xmas:)

regards

ax

I agree with Jeff’s advice. You sound clinically depressed (you mention that the lack of self-esteem is a long-term thing). I have friends who used to sound like you. Seeing a good shrink, then getting on some kind of drug therapy pulled them out of it. Realize also that living in a foreign country, with its inherent cultural challenges, will usually exacerbate this problem.

You might not have figured out what I consider to be a central (and harsh) truth of life: the only way to have the life you want is to work your ass off to get it. Then, you have to keep working your ass off to keep it. There isn’t any other way, unless daddy has a lot of money, and is generous. Try action; it is a solid cure for most ailments.

Your not alone, I garuntee. But does that make you feel any better?

That’s relative to the person your talking to.