Is a tax remittance a thing in Taiwan

I am not a financial person.

All I know is I have been paying taxes in TW now for 5 years. 90% of the time at the full 18%.

I hold a spousal visa and should be taxed at 6% in my income bracket.

Can I claim anything back from the taxation powers?

If this is a stupid question I apologise for my ignorance, I have just received an Australian tax credit. All done online and seamless.

Thank you for any guidance.

yes of course, and too bad you havent done so so far.
does your wife file individually? or with you?
Take your employment documents and any proof you have been paying taxes to the tax buro and file for this year and previous years, you should be getting a tax refund.

Awesome man.

My ineptitude might net me a handsome sum.

Why is it not all on their computers? Perplexes me. In Aus they know everything.

Separate to wife.

I have been paying the tax people every time I get paid. Thousands of payslips. They have no record of this?

They have record of this, but it is your responsibility to report and claim any returns, its not the government’s responsibility to look out for you and pay you back :slight_smile: governments usually like to keep the money to themselves.
you dont have to bring thousands of pay slips, each employer should give you a “withholding and non witholding tax statement” once a year, 扣繳憑單. This is the proof you paid and how much. Take these documents to the tax office and they can assist you in filing.
pls note - tax reporting period finishes in a few days.

1 Like

So it looks like I am showing up with a ton of payslips.

What happens then is a mystery.

I wish they had more robust online services.

How much longer do I have?

you dont have to come with a ton of pay slips. your employer is supposed to issue you a tax statement once a year.
you can do it online, but only for this year, if you have unclaimed previous years you need to go to the office in person.

1 Like

it finishes 31 May.