Is ADHD real?

We all have ADHD to varying degrees

1 Like

this sounds so normal…

Some normal. But I notice it’s a problem for me more than others.

You are able to reply intelligently to long complex threads on this forum. I’m mentally unable to do that. I can’t focus long enough. I can hardly read or watch TV. I can’t even remember what this reply is about

2 Likes

Being sober might help.

4 Likes

I’m ok with reading. I never have much problems with reading. Probably since if I lose focus, I can go right back to where I was. But listening is hard because my mind drifts from things people say a lot.

Stop distracting me! I’m studying for my exams!

Just wait until you’re so distracted you’ve gone into a one hour wiki wormhole about the Mary Tyler Moore show or some other weird thing you previously had no interest in.

2 Likes

I read a lot because of my ADD…

No we don’t, thats an wrong and ridiculous thing to say. You might lack focus or organization, but that isn’t the same as having ADHD.

ADHD is a very real and very serious medical condition

2 Likes

it is if the symptoms cause significant problems functioning in at least two settings. It depends on the threshold. I’m not saying ADHD is not real, but there is not a clear boundary.

I disagree I think it’s a bunch of boloney

You can say this about most if not all mental disorders.

I don’t know what to tell you. I’ve had it my whole life. I didn’t believe it was real until I got older. I have an extremely hard time focusing and listening. I get distracted far more than others. I am hyperactive, it’s actually painful in a way not to move around sometimes. I have weird urges to move in times I know I should stay still. And I am extremely impulsive.

I get some people use it as an excuse and it might be over-diagnosed. But my entire childhood was teachers giving me a hard time because I can’t focus in class, i move around and stuff.