Is it legal to record a phone call?

Is there some privacy law or other law that prevents me from recording a phone call without informing the other person first? What about if I do inform the other person?
What if the other person is in another country and their laws prevent it?

At least in Taiwan it is illegal to record a conversation without prior permission.

1 Like

Any conversation? So all those videos of people shouting at each other are illegal? Assuming they didn’t get consent before the shouting started.

permission or notification ? all my calls to airlines / car rentals / banks etc are recorded without actually asking me for consent, just notifying me that this is the case.

1 Like

It’s probably enough, you could end the call.

So if I start every conversation, “This call may be recorded.” then it’s fine?

yes, should be, but I’m not a lawyer, if its critical ask one.

I don’t suppose saying it in English is acceptable.

If the conversation is going to be in English, I think that would be acceptable, since if it went to court you could argue that the other person on the call could understand. Ultimately, you would need to prove that the other person knew the call was being recorded, the way you let them know is probably irrelevant.

2 Likes

Is it illegal only over the phone?

How about if I get a friend to stand beside them on their end of the phone and record while they are talking to me?

There might be laws for the electronic version back home but don’t know about Taiwan.

I had a call from a company in the uk once. They said they record for training purposes. I said I will record too. They told me I was not allowed and hung up.

13 Likes

That was what they were trained to do :stuck_out_tongue::sunglasses:

4 Likes

I can never find the best thread about this when I’m looking for it in a hurry, but this is one that’s easy to find.

Tldr: You need a legitimate reason to record a private conversation without consent.

1 Like