JFRV ARC but no degree, am I breaking the law or is my employer?

• I am a native English speaker.
  • I have an open work permit, spouse based ARC.
  • I have a college diploma, but no degree, I don’t meet the requirements to teach English here.
  • I am working in a language school teaching English to 8 to 12 year olds.
  • My employer knows that I only have a college diploma.

Am I breaking the law for teaching without a degree or is my boss for hiring me without a degree?

I don’t know the difference between diploma and degree, though is the language school a school that taiwanese teachers need some licence to teach? If not, nobody will be in trouble due to the fact that you teach there.

With your ARC, you can work as taiwanese work.

It is an English only language school for kids, similar to something like Hess.

Don’t want to say the name because I don’t want the school to get in trouble.

The school sounds like a buxiban. To teach at Buxiban, what taiwanese teachers and you need is just a clean criminal record.

I have a clean record.

My boss originally told me that foreigners need a degree to work there legally.

Are you saying that if you have an open work permit, you don’t legally need a degree?

With your ARC, you have a work right, and don’t need any kind of work permit. You can work as taiwanese work.

Foreigners need a degree and right passport with a clean record to get a work permit to teach at buxiban. Taiwanese and you need just a clean record to teach there.

I understand that, but don’t some jobs have additional legal requirements, for example:

To be a doctor I need the correct education and license.

To be a taxi driver I need a taxi license.

Isn’t a degree for teaching just the same as this?

They just hire you as a story telling uncle, no permit, no license needed!

This.

it depends on where you teach. To teach at a language school, you don’t need any license or degree.