Masks: Damaging the Youth of Taiwan

The continued negligence, and irresponsibilty, of parents and teachers in Taiwan allowing young people to hide behind their mask is creating a generation of children with extremely low-esteem and poor social skills. It’s so sad and would be totally avoidable if the adults in these kids lives started adulting and insisted on them removing them.

I’m a career teacher (25 years) and a parent of teenagers.

When asking my students “Why are you still wearing a mask?” I consistently get the same answer:

“I’m ugly.”

:confounded::exploding_head::frowning:

We owe these kids better.

24 Likes

the low self esteem issue described seems seriously unlikely to be tied to masks, and not “totally avoidable” by insisting that kids remove them.

12 Likes

Can you share more about how you came to these conclusions?

7 posts were split to a new topic: Not about masks damaging youth

Well, plenty of kids had self esteem and poor social skills issues before masking, so it seems self evident that these issues would not be “totally avoidable if the adults in these kids lives started adulting and insisted on them removing them.” What makes you come to the conclusion that these issues are totally avoidable by insisting on removing masks?

10 Likes

Indeed, and herein you have an opportunity to help in that regard by responding with something like, “I am sorry if it seems that way, but you are definitely not ugly. When you are older you will realize that everyone is different, and there will always be people who see ugliness and there will always be people who see beauty, but if you prefer to wear a mask right now that is okay.”

7 Likes

They should be more strictly parented?

Absolutely. I nearly never lead with “awwwwww, that’s sosad.”

“No, you’re not. Grab a calculator and take a seat.”

2 Likes