Mormon missionary experience

The Mormon church sends I’d guess ~100 missionaries a year to Taiwan to serve for 2 years. I was one of them from '94-'96. After that I went back and lived for awhile teaching English. I moved back to the states a couple years ago to finish school and have been here since(but I’m always looking for opportunities to move back ). When I was living there as an English teacher, I met lots of other Americans and Canadians. I was suprised to find out that many of them had also been Mormon missionaries in Taiwan years before…and that’s how they learned Chinese and decided they wanted to live there. When I was in school I took a Chinese class and was suprised to see many other missionaries that I had met in Taiwan were in the same class wanting to improve their Chinese.

I’m just kinda curious how many of you were first introduced to Chinese/Taiwan through missionary service (for any church) and how it changed your life goals. Had I not been a missionary, I would have never learned Chinese, never gone to Taiwan, never learned about Chinese culture and would have missed out on one of the greatest learning opportunities in my life. Because of my time there I’m always looking for chances to keep up on my Chinese—reading the local Chinese newspapers, reading Chinese news online, watching the Taiwan news on the International Channel, meeting Taiwanese living here, etc. If I wanted to spend $360/yr I could even get ~10 Taiwan TV stations beamed here via satellite. Some people call me an ‘EGG’ --white on the outside, yellow on the inside

To be honest, I don’t like to talk religion with someone who’s trying to convert me, so I tend to hide whenever I see a pair of young white men in black pants and white shirts riding bicycles in Taipei. However, I would like to say that I was always impressed at how quickly the Mormon missionaries I met seemed to learn Chinese. What program do you use?