Move to Taiwan residency - Marriage and foreign Spousal/Children to obtain a ARC or APRC

Hi there,

I like to know what is the best way, easiest and smooth way to be able to obtain and ARC or APRC for foreigner spouse?

I am a Taiwanese Permanent resident. My wife and my son are residents of Canada. Our citizenships are in Canada all 3 of us.

We are not currently married in Canada, we are thinking of moving back to Taiwan to live permanently.

What is the best way to obtain permanent resident for my wife and son? One way is We were thinking of getting married in Taiwan. We like to keep our status unmarried in Canada.

Please suggest the best route for this?

1 Like

For the wife to be recognized as your dependent you will need to bring a marriage certificate form Canada or another country and notarized by the local Taiwan office (e.g. if you get married in the USA, Teco in the USA). You will also need the birth certificate of your son from Canada showing your name.
at a first step they will get a regular ARC, after 5 years on ARC they can get APRC here.
Marriage in Taiwan might not be recognized by the immigration authorities.

So they’re Canadians?

Yes we are all Canadians. She is Vietnamese and I’m Taiwanese

Right so is this the only way?

Can I not obtain arc by getting married in Taiwan? I saw this form online it is possible.

:thinking:

If you’re not a Taiwanese citizen you won’t be able to get your partner a marriage ARC with a Taiwanese marriage certificate.
The article you linked is for a Taiwanese citizen marrying a foreigner. Two foreigners marrying each other is a different story. Which if you’re on an APRC is what you are in the government’s eyes, regardless of Taiwanese blood. When you got your APRC they checked if you’re considered a ROC national and determined that you are not.

A cautionary tale:

1 Like

I am a Taiwanese citizen, my wife is not.