Moving from Australia to Taiwan. Major Anxiety. Need opinions/advice

I’m looking to move to Taipei for the foreseeable future (at least a year very likely longer/a lot longer) with my partner who has just landed a full time offer for a good job she is considering accepting. We’re both Currently in Australia, unmarried, both in our mid 20s but definitely will be looking into getting married later down the line which is why I’m determined to move with her.

I have a bachelors degree in actuarial science and have held a couple of desk jobs in that field for the past few years but have quit about a year ago because I honestly couldn’t stand working in an office. Currently, I have absolutely no clue what I want to do in life but I see moving to Taiwan as an opportunity to explore more options? My ideal future is working for myself maybe in the youtube/content creation space.

I was born in China (Chinese ethnicity) but have lived the past 15 years in Australia so my English is at a native level. I can speak/read/type Mandarin fluently enough but can only write very basic Chinese pen to paper wise.

My questions are:

Should I move to Taiwan first with no job lined up on a 1 year working holiday visa or 3 month Visa exempt and transfer to a work visa after getting a job? or should I secure something first and come on a work visa?

What jobs are there in Taipei for someone like me? I am not opposed to an office job for the time being, but I only have a few years experience in the actuarial/financial industry.

Is teaching English a good option for someone like me? (native English speaker but with a Chinese face) and should I be completing any English teaching certifications before I arrive?

The best way to move my belongings? (desktop computer, monitor, clothes, shoes, bunch of small miscellaneous things I want to keep)

What are the major sites for things like finding accommodation/job search sites etc. that would be useful?

Much thanks in advance.

4 Likes