N00b Introduction (longish - dumbish)

Greeting Forumosans! My mom always told me to introduce myself in public situations, so before I unload with a bunch of questions, I thought I’d say hi. Mom also told me to never arrive at a gathering empty handed. So I brought a jug of habu sake from Okinawa for those who are so inclined, a fifth of The Macallan (16 y.o.) for those who aren’t and strawberry lemonade (strawberries are from the back yard) for all others. Grab a glass and gather 'round.

My name is Rob. I’ve been lurking for a couple of weeks and found the site very helpful. I’m currently living in the southwest Idaho, USA area. I’ve been here for around 15 years. Prior to that I lived in Washington state for a dozen or so. And before that, I was a military brat. My mom is Okinawan and I was born there and have been back a handful of times in my adult life. In my professional life, I’m a scientist for an MNC (in your lingo) or a big company in regular speak. In my real life, I’m a sport and dirt bike riding dad who likes to teach his girls how to play golf, tie flies, play guitar, bass or drums, barbecue brisket and cuss at the Raiders, Mariners, Sonics, Cougars and Huskies. (Translation for those not from the western US - Oakland American Football team, Seattle baseball, Seattle basketball, Washington State University sports, University of Washington sports.)