Nature-Based, Relaxing Areas to Live/Work for a Couple Weeks?

Hey everyone, I’ve been staying in Taipei for a few months now, and while I love the city, my sleep schedule has gone to trash, I haven’t been doing much running at all, and feel like I’ve just been chilling in concrete for awhile now.

I know there are lots of naturally beautiful areas within a bus ride’s reach from Taipei, but I’m kind of looking to head to the East Coast, around Hualien, for a small reset or “escape” for a couple weeks.

This is kind of hard to describe but I’m looking for some areas that feel a bit more remote and maybe more “wide-open” or natural feeling: basically nice views, nice areas to run from where I’m staying, fresh air, etc.

The one catch is that I still need to work and do some daily video calls, etc., so having a decent internet connection is still important, and ideally a few cafes in the area or places to work out of would be good too. So I guess I’m just looking for a compromise area, if one exists.

I’m going to start in Hualien but I’ve never been there before and don’t know if it’s too “city” feeling still, and will probably look to go a bit further out, but I don’t have any good ideas as to where to go from there. I’m hoping there are still Airbnbs or Hostels or something available wherever these places may be.

Anyone know some places that fit the bill? Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

1 Like

If you’re not on a budget the fancy hotel in Taroko sounds like what you’re looking for. Fresh air and beautiful scenery in abundance. I forget the name of it but there is only one hotel. It might be called the Regent Taroko. There’s also the Catholic hostel if you’re on a budget but last time I was there it was pretty run down.

1 Like

I think you’re talking about the Silks.