Non white mixed race babies in Taiwan

my wife is due in July and I’ve been trying to find as much resources as possible to prepare for the new baby. This will be our first baby.

I was just wondering if anyone here has mixed race babies that aren’t white and Taiwanese or two Asian races mixed that could talk a bit about their experiences raising children here?

Although I am half white, my skin is quite brown. My wife is Taiwanese. I know from first hand experience that children here can have strong reaction to dark skinned people (well more like strong reactions to anyone who looks different really. Not so much about skin color exactly). Anyway I wonder how parents here deal with this?

Im also curious about language. My wife and I speak almost entirely in English at home. I practice Chinese every day but the majority of the time we speak in English as my wife doesn’t really like to slow down and help with my Chinese (I’m not very good at it so I’m sure it must get annoying for her to explain things over and over). Anyway I’ll be taking more mandarin lessons next semester which will hopefully help. But I worry that if we switch to Mandarin in the home my child will lose English ability.

How do others balance language? Also can there be too many languages? My mother will certainly try to teach my child Spanish and my in laws speak almost exclusively in Taiwanese (pretty fascinating usually they speak taiwanese and the young people respond in Mandarin).

Sorry I know this is a long post but I just want to raise my new kid the best I can. I want my child to have a good life.

(Also were only 8 weeks so we haven’t yet crossed the first trimester milestone. It’s quite the build up of anticipation during gestation.)

5 Likes

:banana:

Excellent! Congrats!

We always played it down. No, you can’t take a picture with my cute baby, or toddler, or child. No.