Pay tax online?

I heard from ICRT (if I heard it correctly) this morning that we (foreigner) can file income tax online? where?..I’ve been filling tax for 10 years at the office in Chang Hwa rd taipei and didn’t know about this…anybody know?

In theory you can but in practice you cannot as the tax filing software as produced by the Taiwanese government does not allow for any id numbers that do not conform to those given to Taiwanese nationals, i.e. one alpha and 9 numerics digits, as ours are 2 alpha and 8 numerics it will not accept them. This is as per last year, so it might have changed but i doubt it.

Has anyone downloaded and installed the software for filing taxes successfully on an English-based Windows Computer?

I get error messages and can’t decipher them, cause the Chinese characters don’t show properly.

Well I called the tax office and we (foreginers) still can’t file tax online. We however can download the individual tax form from ntat.gov.tw, print it out and send it to them. But I can’t find the form on that website, anybody care to provide the link?

ntat.gov.tw/county/ntat_ch/n … sp?qcess=L

Enjoy.

[quote=“Icon”]http://www.ntat.gov.tw/county/ntat_ch/ntat_en/ab15.jsp?qcess=L

Enjoy.[/quote]

umm thanks but no Individual Income Tax Return form there, you know the one with A3 size and different color every year…am I mssing something?

I tried the software with my ARC number and it still doesn’t work, so Traveller is right.

Shouldn’t be too difficult to switch that. Probably they think no foreigner can use the Chinese software anyway.

So it’s back to writing the stuff on the oversized sheet (green this year, btw).

It’s tax season again :joy:

Could anyone share the procedures to file taxes online instead of at the tax office? I’m assuming one would need to apply for an alien digital certificate or something like that first?

This has been talked about before elsewhere.