Paying for degree notarization and shipping

Ive been working as an assistant professor at a small college since september. I came from another country in Asia, and have a gold ARC card because i have a phd. I was told when i was hired that i would need to bring my original phd which seemed weird but i did it. Then, a few months later, i was told i would need the phd notarized. I spent several days travelling back and forth to the Mofa to have the degree notarized, and then i paid to have my phd transcripts sent from my school to the “embassy” in the US. Now im being told that i need to pay to have the notarized copy sent to the usa with a prepaid return envelope, which is going to cost ANOTHER 3,000+ nt. This is on top of already paying out of pocket to have several hard copies of my phd dissertation printed. This is getting prohibitively expensive and i never agreed to pay for all of this when i was hired on, and its been super disorganized, and now the college is like HURRY UP GET IT DONE WE’RE ON A DEADLINE. Im thinking of refusing to pay the shipping myself and telling them that they need to pay it. Do you think that will work? Honestly the whole “college” is in such shambles that im not planning to come back next academic year, which should be fine because i havent signed a contract for next year, but im waiting until i have another job lined up to tell them this. Please advise and 謝謝 in advance!

1 Like

If you’re planning on staying in Taiwan and working at a university, you’ll have to do this anyways. It’s an MOE requirement because otherwise they can’t tell the difference between an earned PhD and a fraud, which I understand had been an issue in the past.

If you’re not planning on staying in Taiwan, then it doesn’t matter.

Either way, you could ask them to pay for it. Seems highly unlikely they will agree, but you might get lucky. It could be a way to draw out the process a bit, until you get a new job…

6 Likes

@TT’s take on things is solid.