Positives of having an APRC

I wanted to start a positive thread about permanent residency in Taiwan. It’s gotten a lot better from when I first arrived. I know it still has a long way to go but I though we could focus on some of the positive aspects.

1. I now get some form of retirement savings. I’m really happy about this after not paying into a savings for many years here. It’s not much, but I feel better knowing there will be something there.

2. I just spoke to a University. They first informed me that only Taiwanese can study part time as I would be considered an international student. I mentioned that perhaps they were wrong as I am a permanent resident. The woman checked the law and informed me that yes, I was correct. The law states I am considered a local and not an international student.

Anyone else want to add?

5 Likes

Positives as opposed to…

Citizenship?

Temporary Residents?

No renewals necessary…unless you change address.

2 Likes

Don’t need a sponsor for your residency
Open work permit
Discount for national palace museum

4 Likes

That’s a negative. I like trying to chat up the cute immigration girl.

Jokes.

2 Likes

Nice, does that cover the southern branch as well?

I always get dudes :sideeye:

2 Likes

Is that automatically taken out of your salary or do you have to ask for it or sign up with some gov’t agency?

Dependents arcs for five years at a time

1 Like

This is very good to know. Is it only for APRC, or ARCs in general? Does this also mean that you only pay “local” rates for fees?

I got mine for the cheap health care… pricing out plans here in the US… they are absurdly expensive!

1 Like

It depends on the school. Some types of schools don’t need to pay it. For me, 6% is automatically taken out. I also match it with my optional 6%.

Many private international schools are exempt from paying though.

Yes, only for APRC. No one working there really knows that, so you must educate them on the law.