Recommendations for a non-espresso grinder

I am just getting into making coffee at home. Currently, I use a moka pot and the pour over method but would like to try a French press, too. I have a whirlyblade grinder and am getting inconsistent results. Sometimes the coffee is bitter and sometimes it is too weak and even sour. I have done some reading on coffeegeek this past week and have come to the realization that the inconsistencies are probably due to my grinder.

Does anyone have any suggestions for a grinder that would suit the above three methods? I would prefer not to spend more than NT$ 6500, but if there were an absolute must-have that was slightly more expensive I would be open to suggestions.

I have a made-in-Taiwan Feima (Flying Horse) 600N which is okay for French press, does a medium-fine pour-over well, but I’ve never tried it for moka. My hunch is it would be good because it’s better at grinding at the finer side than at the coarser side. Another grinder is the Flying Eagle CM-300AU, which is supposedly better than the 600N.

You could also look into the Capresso Infinity and Baratza Maestro, both of which should be available here (however, it looks like Baratza has replaced the Maestro with the Encore in the US).

Slowrain,

Many thanks for your response. In my research I have come across both the Flying Eagle and the Feima grinders. Have you heard anything about the Japanese Pearl Horse SHW-388 grinder? It looks similar to the Feima and Flying Eagle grinders. I was also considering the Capresso or a Baratza. It seems that both the Maestro and the Virtuoso are available in Taiwan and I think you are right: the Maestro has been replaced by the Encore in the States. I think I read somewhere that Baratza grinders are made in Taiwan. Is that correct?

I was quite keen on the Capresso due to all the good reviews it got on coffeegeek, but might reconsider and get a local one now that you have recommended it.

Thanks,
bigsyd