So what's the good news

Ok, ive been reading this forum for a very short time but i have learned the following:…its unsafe to talk to Taiwanese women if you are foreign, the cops are useless, there are a lot of a rsehole foreigners who dont even have degrees and are hellbent on money, the local women, and total disregard for the natives. Many schools treat foreign teachers like temperary babysitters…it seems that thats just the tip of the iceberg.
I want to know some good reasons for living and working there…reasons that are not about money…I live in Japan at the monemt and get paid a lot more than the average teacher there.
I also want to know what chances i have to get a job where i will be a respected member of staff at the school; I have a degree (psychology)and 1 years experience in Japanese senior high schools.
I am going to Taipei next month to check it out for myselfbut right now im thinking hat I will be better of in Japan…Can anyone change my mind? I know that some of you have done the japan thing.
Help me

Well, Southpaw, sounds like you got a lot of it right.

The problem is, you might still fall in love with Taiwan anyway. My only suggestion is that if you come down to check it out, try to spend a little more time; check out the different cities like Taipei, Taichung, Tainan, KaoHsiung and maybe even the ones on the east coast (Taidong and Hualien). I realize that would take quite a bit of time, but each city in Taiwan really has its own flavor and… pace. And the people (locals) differ a great deal from city to city.

There are definitely some foreigners who get into universities or other schools to teach, but I’m not sure what sort of credentials would be necessary. And yes, they get more respect than your average ‘bushiban’ teacher.

I know I didn’t say anything too helpful. Maybe others have something concrete to add…?