Songs in the classroom

Sir Donald and wipt,

Songs for little, little ones are okay. But I believe songs, for the most part, are all fluff and no flavor. They are nice and all, but shouldn’t part of what is being taught in the classroom.

Question: What do you think of “Da ban” kindy kids writing paragraphs? Simple ones of course, but paragraphs none the less. I know of several kindys that do not teach songs per say, but are having their older students work on paragraph writing. The classes are two hours per day/five days per week. This does not take away from conversation practice, or phonics.

How much are they writing? Paragraphs are too much. A few lines is a lot already. Young children need games, stories, songs and different ways to explore the world. And writing is a cognitive way of learning for older students.

I am a teacher in NA, and there is not writing of words in kindergarten. They start writing words & sentences in grade 1. There is a reason for that. Kids need to learn in the affective domain, which Taiwanese kids don’t get enough of.

Taiwanese kids get pushed too fast and need more time to enjoy life. I have met too many Taiwanese teenagers and adults who have no life (no hobbies or interests). I say let you kids enjoy songs, games & stories. That is what kindergarten is about.

Cheers,
JJ :wink:

Paragraphs - Holy cow :shock:
This is Kindergarten not Harvard. Or is it Small Harvard School :smiling_imp:? (xiao Ha Fo)

I can’t agree with paragraphs in Kindy.

What’s the goal of writing paragraphs at that age. I feel that kindergarten should be about learning how to interact with others, improving motor skills, being introduced to ideas like science, math, and reading, etc. I’d also have to disagree about the music. Songs, especially children’s songs, help with group interaction skills, memorization, pronunciation, and even sentence structure and vocabulary among other things.