Surfing

Anyone do surfing in Taiwan?

I have no experience of it at all but would like to get into it. what’s the best way?

Any advice welcome. :notworthy:

First things first. Are you a decent swimmer? You’d be surprised how few people check that box before trying surfing.

There’s boards for hire down at Dingxi, just past Fulong. Hire one and dive right in.

GOLDEN RULE! Be courteous to other surfers. If someone else is on a wave, don’t try and catch it.

HG

[quote=“Huang Guang Chen”]First things first. Are you a decent swimmer? You’d be surprised how few people check that box before trying surfing.

There’s boards for hire down at Dingxi, just past Fulong. Hire one and dive right in.

GOLDEN RULE! Be courteous to other surfers. If someone else is on a wave, don’t try and catch it.

HG[/quote]

thanks for replying! :smiley:

I can swim alright, I wouldn’t say I was a ‘strong swimmer’ but I won’t drown. :stuck_out_tongue:

Is there a season I should go in? Do I need a wet suit? Is it better to go with someone?

How do I know which wave belongs to who?

Well, the thing about surfing is that you are putting yourself in water that is typically difficult for swimming, so you really should be a very confident swimmer before diving in. I really can’t count the number of people I’ve pulled out of the water that didn’t count on this, and if it weren’t for me and others, they would be most certainly dead now.

First step, go to the beach and watch for a long while. You’ll work it out. As to who’s wave, if you end up with Bubba’s board up your arse then you probably “dropped in.”

HG

[quote=“Huang Guang Chen”]Well, the thing about surfing is that you are putting yourself in water that is typically difficult for swimming, so you really should be a very confident swimmer before diving in. I really can’t count the number of people I’ve pulled out of the water that didn’t count on this, and if it weren’t for me and others, they would be most certainly dead now.