Taiwan Born American Divorce Taiwanese and Assets

Hello,

I am a Taiwan-born American. I recently married my Taiwanese wife in United States 2 years ago. She does not have US green card or citizenship. We are not registered in Taiwan. How does Taiwan view our marital status? In case of divorce would it be possible to go after her Taiwan assets? I’m afraid US courts would just go after my assets in America.

Thanks.

Lawyers are there for that kind of things.

I have no knowledge of Taiwan family law, and only slightly more about US law. In the US all assets, wherever held, are on the table. But if she had those assets prior to your marriage (separate or individual assets), they’re likely back off the table. For example, if she owned a house in Taiwan before you were married and had $100,000 of equity in it, that would be hers. However, you could claim half of the increased equity (if she had $140,000 in equity, for example, $40,000 would be marital assets).

Of course, I have no idea if a Taiwan court would help execute a US order regarding that property, and proving the value of the house to a US court is difficult.

On a different note, it will probably be best for everyone if you part amicably. If you can divorce without lawyers and come to an agreement that you both are happy with, you will save a lot of time, money, and stress. You can do this yourselves, or you can hire mediators. Either way, once the lawyers get involved it often becomes a zero-sum game that rarely works out for the husband and makes everything worse. This is even more true if you have kids, as a contentious divorce makes it harder for the parents to work together in the best interests of the children.

Good luck in this difficult time.

3 Likes

Doesn’t a man get more consideration in Taiwan? Even for the kids?

As I said, I know nothing about Taiwan family law.