Taobao Real Name Verification

I have been shopping on Taobao unaware of the new measures. Apparently I have to get approved for 實名認證 (real name verification) using the EZ Way app just to begin the shipping out process. Currently stuck there unable to ship out.

I’ve filled out my info and registered on the app but I’m not approved. I’m guessing it’s because I’m a foreign resident holding an ARC. Tried the hotline but my phone can’t get through. Anyone able to help?

What and how are the stuff shipped over? I never had to use EZ Way with Taobao shipments… I always chose sea shipping though.

Only time I had to use EZ Way was for a Fedex package.

It’s a new measure they are trying out but officially begins on 4/16/2020. Apparently all packages have to be registered now. The app makes it easy for locals but us ARC holders really got the short end of the stick.

Do you have an ARC or citizenship? How did you get approved for EZ Way?

Update: finally managed to contact someone with some knowledge and unfortunately there is no resolution. If you use Taobao-provided shipping methods, packages will not be able to consolidated unless you have Taiwan citizenship (EZ Way). There isn’t a roundabout to that. I’m not sure about alternative shipping companies. If a package were to manage to reach Taiwan customs, a foreigner will only be contacted if needed to fill out the customs form (I’m guessing this is like before). Otherwise, the package should go through as per usual.

The EZ Way hotlines and online chat services are shot, no one is answering or replying at all. The best thing to do is to contact your shipping company.

Hi @wrappy, welcome to Forumosa. Sorry to hear about that outcome.

If my assessment of your posts is correct, it looks like the EZWay app sponsored by Taiwan Customs does not accept details from a foreign resident of Taiwan? A group of us here are capturing and trying to rectify things like this, with some success.