Teaching in Taiwan... which route should I go?

Hi everyone!

I am thinking about going to Taiwan in August 2023 to teach English for one year. I need help deciding how I should go about doing this (going with an agency vs job hunting in-person)!

A bit about me:

• I am a 24-year-old certified Canadian teacher with a BEd and I also have an accredited TESOL certificate. By the time I leave for Taiwan, I will have about 1 year of experience substitute teaching
  • I have about 8 years of experience tutoring kids (primarily English and Math)
  • I do not plan to pursue teaching for the rest of my life, so I don’t really care about landing a position that will advance my career
  • I mostly would like to go to Taiwan to experience the culture, language, city, etc (Taipei or busy cities like Taipei that are rich with nightlife would be preferable for me), so the less overtime work, the better! Making a lot of money isn’t a huge priority of mine, but I would also like my work to be enjoyable/not too stressful!
  • I am a Chinese born Canadian who knows very little mandarin/Chinese… but I’m working on it!

Options I’m considering:

I would love your opinion on which option you think that I should pursue, and I’m open to other options/agencies. Agencies are appealing to me since I don’t speak mandarin and I feel like it’s the “safe” option since they’ll be able to help me with my VISA and with getting settled with accommodations and whatnot. But I also want work to be enjoyable and I haven’t seen the best comments/reviews about people’s work environments when they go with agencies.

And if anyone has personal experience with Foresight or Teach Taiwan, I would love to hear your positive/negative experiences!

Thanks for your time :slight_smile:

I’m impressed. Most Canadians your age don’t have a bed. They sleep on a futon.

4 Likes

That’s not helpful @papertowel. I’ve slept in a bed and not a futon my whole life.