Tested Indian recipes

We don’t have a thread on this topic, and there are good and bad recipes out there for every kind of food. A while back, I had tried some Indian dishes from a cookbook and got poor results. Now, I’ve found a good site for authentic dishes, and am just starting to try the recipes, inspired by the delicious food at an Indian friend’s home. It turns out that my previous failures were really just the result of bad recipes.

I’m a brand new student in this realm, but as I go, I would like to share the links with you one by one as I test them and get good results. I’ll add tips based on my own errors or experience, and hopefully others here who cook Indian food (and may have VASTLY more experience than me) can chime in.

Two tips in advance for others who might make the same foolish errors I did:

1. Don’t use store-bought yogurt. It has to be completely unsweetened, and the ones marked ‘plain’ here may in fact be sweetened but with no other flavors added. Make your own or source unsweetened stuff.

2. Consider halving the chillies or chilli powder in any particular recipe, so as not to nearly kill your better half (or third in my case). Some of these recipes are still fiery at half strength. You can always add more at the end after tasting the results.

Here are the recipes I’ve tried so far and liked very much, and notes:

Thool Zamboor, onion and tomato based Kashmiri egg curry Flavoured with a mix of dry spices.
Note: easy and delicious.

ALOO GOL MATOL, baby potatoes cooked with a spicy masala powder and finished with lemon juice.
Note: If it ends up too spicy or sour, you can fix that with some coconut cream.

DUM MURGH: Delicious chicken flavour with rich spice and cooked on its own steam
Note: don’t use sweet yogurt! :blush:

MALBARI MUTTON: A popular spicy mutton preparation from Kerala