The plight of Philipinos in Taiwan

This morning I heard that one of my friends from the Philippines was deported. Guess how much time he had to pack up. None. He was awoken by his boss at two o’ clock in the morning and told to pack up immediately. His factory’s bus did not pick them up as it normally does and he tried to get to work by himself. Meanwhile, the factory had sent taxis to pick up the workers without them knowing. Because only a handful of workers showed up, there was no production for the entire day. Of all the workers that didn’t make it to work (probably 90%) only three got deported. The few that showed up were rewarded though. As a teacher I often complain about the exploitation that we have to put up with (I was only paid 25% of my Summer Camp Wages the other day), but it seems Philipinos and Philipinas have to endure much worse conditions.

I have read your post three times and still don’t understand what happened.

Yes, I heard of a Filipina nurse who was forcefully deported with only one day’s notice for having intestinal parasites.

What are you doing about your own salary problem?

Just don’t go beating up on any cops.

My friend was fired and deported at 2 am the day after he and most of the other workers at a certain factory couldn’t go to work because their factory bus didn’t show up. They tried to get to work by themselves. The factory wanted the workers to take taxis to work. The workers would have been reimbursed for any expenses incurred, but the message did not get to most of the workers. as a result of the transport problems and lack of proper communication, production was halted.

I put up a half-hearted fight and got another 25% out of them. I’m saving them for later.

Rinkals, I’m sorry to hear about your friend.