Tipping in Taiwanese UberEats

Is it possible to give tips through the app? Somehow I can’t figure it out…there’s a button for “reviews & tips” but when I start the process, there doesn’t seem to be a tips option.

I don’t think there is one. Just give the driver some coins.

2 Likes

I tried tipping a couple times. The delivery person always seems confused.

I’ve been ordering nearly everyday for a few weeks since coronavirus and the delivery people just hand over the bag and run back to the elevator.

My Taiwan friends tell me don’t tip.

So I gave up tipping Ubereats drivers.

1 Like

Interesting. I’m still an UberEats beginner and today the guy was trying to be extra nice, as if he was hoping for a tip. He had been super quick and I let him wait for a bit so I wanted to tip him, but thought I could do it through the app afterwards… too bad it’s not possible.

1 Like

Tipping isn’t a part of Taiwan’s culture. Some would even get mad if you give them a tip. They’ll think you are looking down on them. I gave up giving them tips as well.

7 Likes

Why would you guys be giving extra money to drivers?

I thought this was about lifehacks. Didn’t you already pay in the app?

1 Like

This catches me as tip time, but I’ve come to realize it’s just them trying to do a good job, provide good service and just being nice.

Not like some cultures and countries where you have to pay extra to get good service.

1 Like

Welcome to the forum! :grin:

1 Like

They sometimes make ridiculously small amounts for a ride (25 TWD).

Thank you! :slight_smile:

Has not been the case for me.

I tipped $100 once when I accidentally sent the driver to my home address but was at work. It was just a 5-minute drive, but still.

Yeah, Taiwan guy pulling down 40k a month busting his ass in Taipei traffic 12 hours a day or more turns down free cash :roll:

https://thumbs.gfycat.com/ZestyMassiveHammerheadshark-size_restricted.gif

I’ll give them a hun if the weather’s particularly nasty.