Traditional funeral in Taiwan...some observations

Last August my Taiwanese father-in-law passed away. Below are some observations regarding his funeral. I only post what I considered interesting aspects of the many traditional customs during this event. I am no expert on Taiwan customs. Comments on what I observed and heard are my personal feelings and may not jive with what an expert knows about these customs. I did not prod people to describe the customs in detail to me and my Chinese is definitely not good enough to go into that level of detail…and then some people could only describe in Taiwanese.

I break my comments into separate parts. I hope not too long and boring…but then again only those that are interested will read. I did not take many photos….mostly out of respect…and I am not a big picture taker. A few shown are sourced from others. The location was in Douliou county area….in a small neighborhood mostly filled with farmers in a small town.

Timing and body
Since my father-in-law (Mr Lai) died during Ghost Month the funeral needed to wait until 13 days later….of course, needed to check which day was best. Mr Lai’s body lay in rest at the house starting the day after he died. The body was in a freezer.

Main events
Seven days after Mr Lai’s death a special prayer service was arranged. From 6:00pm to 9:00pm a group of ladies led the family members in prayer. Afterwards a large bonfire was lit.