Very unfriendly attitude at the Taipei office in Hong Kong

Not seeking information or help, just want to get something of my chest. A friend of an employee wants to study Mandarin in Taiwan. Was asked for help as they were and are still struggling to get the right information, where to change a visitor visa to a student visa, where to have a bank balance proof done, etc. Of course I referred them to this very forum as well. As they collected conflicting information and as naiv as I am, I said let me call the Chungwa Travel office in Hong Kong and so I did. The phone get’s answered with a taped message that is of such poor quality that nobody can understand it. Pressed then the designated operator button and after going through the loop of holding, a young lady picked up the phone. I introduced myself and stated that I am a permanent Taiwan resident, calling from Taipei and I had a question. I was rudely interrupted and asked to go to a web site. I said that we did that but still had questions. The woman (heavy Hong Kong accent) then read the web site address again for me. I said to her, well you are the professional and certainly you can be of assistance. Phone got disconnected, so I went through the same scenario of phoning again and got to the same woman. I said, sorry but I think our phones got disconnected. “Please go to our web page and do not call this office for visa questions, we are very busy here”. :noway: I gave up and communicated the result of my call to my Friends.

I think this is just unbelieveable. Taiwan is trying to attract Tourism and actually promotes Mandarin Studies. I am sending a strong worded message to the Bureau of consular affairs (which seeem to be in charge of overseas missions, issuing visas) complaining about this sort of attidute and obviously image it creates for the country of my choice for residence. :loco: