Work Holiday Pass and Taxes – What is the real situation?

I know there are threads where similar topics have been discussed, but I didn’t find quite what I was looking for.

Do those who are here on a Work Holiday Pass and work online as digital nomads commonly pax taxes in Taiwan? Is this being enforced?

Does anyone get asked about it when leaving Taiwan?

Do tax authorities here care about this category, or are WHP holders de-facto treated as tourists unless they work here for a company?

Are you asking whether you will be caught if you evade income taxes?

1 Like

If there is income showing, the tax office will require an accounting of it.
Back when I was a student I thought I didn’t need to pay tax (I didn’t owe any as it was $0) but years later some Karen at the tax office insisted I needed to file for a $0 years later. I never bothered but I assume if I owed they would have followed up.

If you leave without paying i personally doubt they would chase you for a small amt to your home country but you never know as tax offices are starting to work together now compared to years ago

Not sure about the digital nomand stuff

Visa type is irrelevant to tax law in Taiwan. It’s the # of days in Taiwan that matters.

But to be realistic about working holidays and employment in Taiwan. If you are British and had a Taiwanese employer, your boss would probably have declared you as if you were earning minimum wage. And the path of least resistance is to just pay tax on what was declared- although this is illegal.

If you are not British and had a Taiwanese employer, your boss probably convinced themselves you’re in Taiwan illegally and didn’t declare any of your income. Path of least resistance, don’t complete a return as you ‘earned nothing’ - also illegal.