Work visa: can an MSc civil engineer (or high school teacher) become self-employed?

Good morning everyone and thanks for reading the post.

First of all I’m going to introduce myself:
My name is Salva Adam, I’m Spanish and I have a master’s degree in civil engineering and another in education for undergraduate physics and mathematics.

For a year and a half I have been thinking about moving to Taiwan since my girlfriend is Taiwanese and I haven’t seen her for almost a year because of the covid.

Being a Spanish citizen we do not have the right to apply for the working holiday visa, so we only have the visa application for the purpose of job search, student visa and working visa.

The visa for the job search has been denied because I do not meet the requirements. It is illogical to ask that you have been working for 6 months prior to the visa application if you want to look for a job.

The fact is that of those 6 months they were asking for, I could only justify 4, so I am not eligible for that type of visa.

I also see the visa for medical treatment as being somewhat complex since I do not suffer from any disease, and a routine cosmetic operation or revision does not apply to this type of visa.

For the student visa I have seen that there was a visa modality for Chinese language students, but due to the pandemic it was not available until further notice.

Well, I find the last alternative: the working visa.

I understand that for this type of visa the company must sponsor you to obtain a work permit and, already with the permit, apply for the working visa.

I understand that this modality will be complicated since the companies will prefer to hire locals rather than spend a pasture in foreigners, so the only thing I can think of is to register as a self-employed person.

Can a MSc civil engineer (or high school teacher) become self-employed in Taiwan? Could someone give me some indication? I think it’s the easiest solution to enter Taiwan.