Work visa -- issued in my home country?

I’ve just been offered a job in Taipei, and I don’t know what to do with the visa. I doubt that the owner knows also since he basically asked me to find out what I need to process to be able to go to Taiwan. Of course, a visitor visa will always do but since I will (hopefully) be working there, I assume that I’d need a work permit. Where do I apply for the work permit? in my home country? or do I just go to Taiwan on a visitor visa and apply for it there? but then there’s another question… although I have a bachelor’s degree, I don’t have 2 years work experience, how do I go about with that? :?

Any help will be GREATLY appreciated! :smiley:

Need more information.

Is it a teaching job or something else? If the employer doesn’t know about work permits then there’s a high chance he can’t get you one. It’s the responsibility fo the employer to process your application for a work permit, and this is done in Taiwan.

Brian

Thanks for your reply :smiley:

No it’s not a teaching job, actually, I don’t really know what the nature of the job is. I was just referred by an acquaintance and all he said was that this company is looking for someone who can speak English and a bit of Chinese, so i assume it’s an office job. And since it’s a company that exports their products to US and Europe (as I’ve been told), I’m quite sure it’s legit and safe (hopefully!). I’m maybe going to call/email the company tomorrow to clarify things out.

But still, i’m worried about the 2year experience requirement to get the work permit, how do I tell the employer about this :? i know he needs to know, but I think he would withdraw the job offer if things get complicated… :frowning: do you think it’s fine if I tell him about the visa run? and how many times can one do it before they kick you out of the country? --> this should be my last resort since I don’t expect a high paycheck that would afford me a visa run every 2 months! :?