Would you advise a newbie to chase after Buxiban gigs?

Hi all, I’ve been a long term lurker of this forum for a number of months now. I suppose this is a thread asking for general life advice.

I will start by saying since early adulthood it’s been a dream of mine to live in Taiwan. I grew up in a moldy, terraced housing estate in a smaller Irish city. So Taiwan was like a breath of fresh air when I visited a friend who was studying here. I quickly fell in love with Taiwan to the point I started studying Chinese full time and made it my goal to move here after graduation.

I finally made the move earlier in the year and have been taking some online private translation work to keep bread on the table since then. I actually quite enjoy translation work but it’s not a road to living here long term, as online work won’t provide me with an ARC after my current year long working holiday visa expires.

So this brings me to Buxiban teaching which seems like the go to choice for most expats to nab an ARC and earn a living in Taiwan. Reading threads like Half of Taiwan's cram school teachers may lose their jobs | Taiwan News | in the best of times Buxiban teaching seems like a rather unstable field. It is confusing for me because I meet some foreigners that claim they are making the equivalent of 2k Euros a month here. Yet most Buxiban TEFL listings and Schools seem to offer wages in the 550-600hr range and barely above 10 work hours a week. Was this common pre-Covid? I don’t mind a bit of the craic but at 550 an hour I told the laoban I can’t accept that even with an ARC thrown in.

What would you do in my shoes? I feel Buxibans are a dead end road that is slowly disintegrating with Covid. I was looking into scholarships here but it seems that boat has sailed unless I apply for 2022 entry, and even then would have to leave the country to apply to a postgraduate program.

Buxibans are a great way to make money. It’s also super easy to get a job. Give it a try.