Commissioned Employee? Is this legal for a cram school to avoid paying benefits

My cram school made me sign a contract saying that I am a commissioned contractor or something and so they are not liable for any labor insurance, health insurance, paid leave, retirement benefits ect… Is this legal? I have to go to their location to work.

Do you have a spousal ARC? Do you have an educational company?

or open work permit with APRC/TARC, or student work permit, or working holiday visa?

It’s not legal. This is just them pretending to be smart and trying to get away with bullshitting you and themselves. If they get caught, they’ll get fined big time. I’d suggest finding a different school. There are plenty of other places these days.

1 Like

You could go to NIA or MOL with the contract and ask them if it is legal, and what you should do if it is illegal.

Best to check with your Special Municipality’s or County’s Labour Affairs Department. They are the ones who deal with that. I know from experience.

1 Like

or hukou?

If you read Chinese

如果公司要求與受僱勞工片面簽定承攬契約或委任契約,則由於服勞務的特性,實質上是屬於雇傭的性質,雖形式上名為「委任」或「承攬」契約,亦不失為雇傭的特性,則因與事實不符,雙方還是僱傭關係。

二方無論簽具何種契約,並非單純以契約名稱論斷,尚需實質認定。
而勞工局已經就二者實質關係行政認定資方與業務員間具有僱傭關係,勞保局當依據勞保條例規定,按自僱用之日起,處以資方二倍罰鍰。

This always triggers me.
Really? They made you? What, did they have a gun to your head? They holding your family hostage?

It is simple, don’t sign anything you are not comfortable signing. Jobs are a dime a dozen out there. Their loss, not yours.

Not sure why @SuiGeneris is so “triggered” by OP’s choice of words. A lot of people say someone “made” them do something when they feel undue pressure, not necessarily under threat of being murdered.
Chill.

But everyone else is right, OP. This sounds like a shithouse buxiban and you should laugh in their faces and keep looking. Even if you signed that contract it’s probably invalid due to all the illegal stipulations and conditions.

He could have said ‘they had me sign …’