Has anyone ever transferred to a Taiwanese University?

I am in my first year of a Bachelor’s of Science in Computer Science. I’m not from the US and can’t afford a degree in the US.
I have always wanted to go to Taiwan and I’m already 23 so I have been looking into completing my degree in Taiwan.
Having spoken to many of the University Admissions Offices, admission to an undergrad programme is based on highschool transcripts, even if you have an associate’s degree.
Transferring credits is up to your department.
Has anyone here ever transferred to a Taiwanese university or gone to undergrad after having already gotten an associate’s?
Did you finish in 2-3 years or did you have to start all over again?
Any advice you can give?

1 Like

I won’t say it’s impossible, as I don’t know the answer to that question. But I will say I have never heard of transfering credits internationally into a university degree in Taiwan. The only exceptions would be for institutions that already have signed some kind of joint agreement (and this is relatively rare).

In short, if you want a degree in Taiwan, I suspect you’ll have to start at the floor, from first year.

Guy

3 Likes

Don’t do it. Taiwanese degrees are worthless ultimately

1 Like

It’s certainly possible to transfer credits from a foreign university to a Taiwanese university. I’ve had to deal with this on several occasions, where I had to confirm whether or not the syllabus for the course that the student was attempting to get credit for fit with the content and objectives of the course offered by our department. Therefore, credits can be transferred and accepted based on professors’ determination of whether or not they fulfill the expectations of the course, track, or module.